&Follow SJoin OnSugar
A beauty blog featuring DIY recipes, tips & tricks as well as natural & organic beauty product reviews.

If you are a reader with a question or a company interested in working with me you can contact me here.

Who writes Beautiful Basics?

 Hi Beautiful! My name is Kassie and I’m a 27 year old from a small town in Oregon. I have a passion for all things beauty, being green, and writing which is why I started Beautiful Basics. In this blog you will find my thoughts on natural and organic beauty products as well as DIY beauty recipes and other odds and ends.

I’m not an expert or a professional but I have learned a lot about beauty and skin care by experimenting and teaching myself.

I like to keep this blog as positive as possible. I love testing out products but I only write about the ones I love.

Thanks so much for stopping by!
I hope you enjoy!

BYDLS

I also have a blog that chronicles my life living with chronic illness.

Email |
|
Monday, March 12, 2012

Harvey Prince Review + GIVEAWAY!

Every woman needs a signature scent that defines who she is, but did you know that traditional perfumes are among the most toxic beauty products out there? It all started in 2008 when the brothers behind Harvey Prince wanted to create a healthier alternative to commercial fragrance to give their Mother for Mother's Day. Using only the finest natural and essential oils from around the world they created Ageless, the first of their fragrances and the ultimate Mother's Day gift.

4 years later, Harvey Prince now has a line of several different scents, all with a purpose like preventing cravings, enticing the man of your dreams, or appearing 8 to 12 years younger. This unique line offers something for everyone! Each fragrance is formulated without phthalates, parabens, sulfates, benzene, GMOs or triclosan. Their products are also 100% cruelty free and made in the USA. They are also hypoallergenic.

I chose their original scent, Ageless, because the description and the notes sounded right up my alley. With notes like Pink Grapefruit, Pomegranate, Mango, Jasmine, Tuberose, Ylang Ylang, and Sandalwood this fragrance is fresh, bright, and clean. The Smell & Taste Treatment and Research Foundation in Chicago has conducted studies that find pink grapefruit and mango to be the olfactory antidote to aging. The fruity and citrus scents help disguise the scent of aging which is caused by the breakdown of fatty acids. Ageless was designed to make you feel and smell 8-12 years younger.

I can't touch on the subject of appearing 8-12 years younger because if that was the case I would appear to be somewhere between 12 and 16 years old, and that would just be plain weird. I'm lucky if people think I'm 19 or 20, since I look very young. Science aside, this perfume is fresh, cheerful, and uplifting. It is very feminine without being too overpowering or strong. This fragrance lasts all day and provides a delightful dose of fruity and floral. It smells young, but not in a little girl type of way. It's young but still age appropriate.

I even got to try a sampleof Flirt, their newest scent, and Yogini. Flirt is a delicious combination of Lavender, Pumpkin Pie, Citrus, Jasmine, Freesia, Ylang Ylang, Nutmeg, Cinnamon, and Amber. Flirt is the perfect name for this scent as it is very flirty and fun. It is somewhat floral and slightly spicy. Yogini is not my cup of tea but does smell nice.

I also want to briefly talk about the bottle and the gorgeous simplicity of it - it would make a lovely addition to any vanity or dressing table.

All of you have the wonderful opportunity to win your very own 1.7 oz bottle of Ageless, and 3 of you will win! This  giveaway is open internationally. All you have to do is leave me a comment (don't worry if it doesn't show up right away) telling me that you:

 

Extra entries:

 

This Giveaway will run for 10 days and end on Thursday March 22 at noon PST.  The winners will be announced on Facebook and they will have 48 hours to e-mail me with their shipping information. Good luck everyone!

 

(FTC: These products were so generously provided to me for review consideration by the company. I am not being compensated to write this review. All thoughts and opinions, as always, are my own and honest.)

 

posted by
3/12/12

the scents sound so delicious! (: and its great that there's no toxic chemicals within..


posted by Tonia Ruck
3/12/12

I liked Harvey Prince on Facebook.

As for my signature scent, vanilla is my thing. It's so soothing to me.


posted by Tonia Ruck
3/12/12

And of course I'm already a huge fan of your page on Facebook. Forgot to add that!


posted by JR Pickett
3/12/12

Like Harvey Prince on Facebook as "Vicki Vix" (my f/b name).


posted by JR Pickett
3/12/12

"Vicki Vix" like-s you on FB.


posted by JR Pickett
3/12/12

Follow Harvey Prince on Twitter as "@FromFurrin".


posted by JR Pickett
3/12/12

"Vicki Vix" liked this post.


posted by JR Pickett
3/12/12

Tweeted on 03/12. https://twitter.com/#!/FromFurrin/status/179355403174412288


posted by JR Pickett
3/12/12

"From Furrin" follows Harvey Prince via G+.


posted by JR Pickett
3/12/12

posted by
3/12/12

 Like Harvey Prince and Beautiful Basics on Facebook under name amanda sanchez

Sweetlikecandy1688 at gmail dot com


posted by
3/12/12

Liked this post


posted by
3/12/12

Follow Harvey Prince on Twitter @ sweetgirly1688


posted by
3/12/12

Added harvey prince to my google + circle under name amanda sanchez


posted by Kirsten P.
3/13/12

I like Harvey Prince on facebook as ( Tamara White )


posted by Kirsten P.
3/13/12

I like Beautiful Basics on facebook as ( Tamara White )


posted by Kirsten P.
3/13/12

I follow Harvey Prince on twitter as @EmeraldVase


posted by Kirsten P.
3/13/12

I liked this post.


posted by Kirsten P.
3/13/12

Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/EmeraldVase/status/179468717351116800


posted by Kirsten P.
3/13/12

I shared on facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/harveyprince#!/permalink.php?story_fbid=398886806806343&id=100001897974957


posted by
3/13/12

Hi Kassie!
Liked Harvey Prince and Beautiful Basics on FB.
Followed Harvey Prince on twitter and tweeted!
https://twitter.com/#!/MrsNisaAbdul/status/179498860094304257
Liked the post!
Shared on FB!
https://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/MrsNisaAbdul/posts/323593051023885

Thank You!


posted by Taylor Webb
3/13/12

Liked Beautiful Basics on FB


posted by Taylor Webb
3/13/12

Liked this post!


posted by Taylor Webb
3/13/12

Liked Harvey Prince on FB!


posted by Taylor Webb
3/13/12

Shared on FB!


posted by Kirsten P.
3/14/12

Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/EmeraldVase/status/179848742608977921


posted by
3/18/12

I love Beautiful Basics! And I like it too :)


posted by
3/18/12

I also liked the Harvey Prince site, and shared on Facebook.


posted by Rachel Hogue
3/18/12

I've liked beautiful basics from the beginning (on FB too) :)
Liked Harvey Prince on Facebook
Following Harvey Prince on Twitter
Tweeted about the give away (@GauchoChivas)
Liked the post
And shared giveaway on FB :)


posted by
3/22/12

Liked harvey prince on facebook as amanda sanchez


posted by Sandy VanHoey
3/22/12

I like Harvey Prince on Facebook


posted by Sandy VanHoey
3/22/12

I like Beautiful Basics on Facebook


posted by Sandy VanHoey
3/22/12

I follow Harvey Prince on twitter @sandyv1955


posted by Sandy VanHoey
3/22/12

I follow Harvey Prince via Google+


posted by Amy W.
3/22/12

I like Harvey Prince on facebook.


posted by Amy W.
3/22/12

I like you on facebook.


posted by Amy W.
3/22/12

I liked this post.


posted by Amy W.
3/22/12

google + follower of Harvey Prince


posted by john Joseph
3/22/12

I like harvey prince on facebook


posted by john Joseph
3/22/12

I like beautifiul basics on facebook


posted by john Joseph
3/22/12

I liked this post


posted by john Joseph
3/22/12

I follow harvey prince on google plus John Joseph


posted by Erinn S
3/22/12

Like this post onFB: Erinn Arena Sluka erinnsluka@gmail


posted by Erinn S
3/22/12

Follow Harvey Prince on twitter @3sonshavei


posted by Holly S.
3/22/12

I like you both on FB as Holly Storm-Burge
hstorm799{at}gmail{dot}com


posted by Holly S.
3/22/12

I follow Harvey Prince on Twitter as @HollyStormEtsy
hstorm799{at}gmail{dot}com


posted by Holly S.
3/22/12

I 'liked' your post as Holly Storm-Burge
hstorm799{at}gmail{dot}com


posted by Holly S.
3/22/12

I tweeted here: https://twitter.com/#!/HollyStormEtsy/status/182897747152732160
hstorm799{at}gmail{dot}com


posted by Holly S.
3/22/12

I follow Harvey Prince via Google +1 circles as Holly Storm
hstorm799{at}gmail{dot}com


posted by Ann Parker
3/22/12

like harvey prince on fb

Ann M Heilman Parker
truwinner@gmail.com


If you are already an OnSugar member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are made, please login or register for OnSugar.
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.